Imprimer cette pageObtenir une version pdf de cette page

Olympique de Marseille

L’OM... in a few words

The most popular football club in France, Olympique de Marseille was founded by René de Montmirail Dufaure in 1899.
Club trophies:
- 9 Premier League
- 10 French Cup
- 3 League Cup
- 2 Champions Trophy
- 1 UEFA Champions League

The club won its first French Cup in 1924 and thus became the first provincial club to clinch the title. L’OM then won its first Premier League in 1937, before declining for the first time into the second devision in 1959. A series of ascents and descents takes place in the 1960’s and the following decade was marked by the first French Cup / Premier League double in the club’s history.
After a dark period in the 1980’s when l’OM was close to bankruptcy, the arrival of Bernard Tapie introduces the best period for the club. Four consecutive Premier League trophies, one French Cup and a UEFA Champions League 1992-1993, that remains the only one won by a french club. The case VA / OM and its economical consequences plunged the club into second devision. Since the club’s ascension to first devision in 1996, the club confronts again court with the case of l’OM accounts and can no longer win a major title, despite two UEFA Cup finals (1999 and 2004).
This period of dormancy ends with the winning of the Premier League 2009-2010 and three consecutive French Cup trophies in 2010, 2011 and 2012.
The club is chaired by Vincent Labrune in 2011, the main shareholder is Margarita Louis-Dreyfus, widow of Robert Louis-Dreyfus. The first team is coached by Marcelo Bielsa.

Stade Vélodrome... how to get there

Le Stade Vélodrome
3 Boulevard Michelet
13008 Marseille

To get to Stade Vélodrome
Metro 2 Bougainville - Sainte Marguerite Dromel
Tribune Jean Bouin and Virage Sud Peretti: Rond - Point du Prado Station
Tribune Ganay and Virage Nord: Sainte Margerite Dromel Station

More information
View the route map